Is it Me?

 

Just like Lucy, I guess I have some ‘splainin to do. Where have I been?

Oh, I have been around. My day job had me quite busy and that left me no time to date, “date” or even think about anything in between.

After my workload was alleviated, I realized that I wasn’t dying to venture back into those murky waters. I think during my time away, I fell in love with the idea of not trying. I don’t know if it was a product of those last two awful dates (you remember the boring guy from Barcelona and the guy with the exaggerated view of his endowments, right?) Or maybe it was not having to go through the troubles of telling people of my HIV Status; Or maybe it was because I am a closet spinster, but I was, and still am, loving it.

I have had various offers for dates or “dates” but I turned them down.  Yes,  I even turned down dates with extremely handsome men who were sincerely into dating me. Obviously, I don’t know what was wrong with me! I mean how could I turn them down when there are children starving in China (excuse my seemingly insensitive and politically incorrect mixed metaphor, but I’m sure you get my point).  I guess I just wasn’t feeling like it. I wasn’t feeling like becoming the best possible version of myself to go on a date with someone who I would probably not be interested in.  And conversely, if I were interested, they would either not be with me or be scared off by my HIV status. Continue reading…

Leave a comment

Filed under AIDS, Dating, Gay, HIV, HIV/AIDS, New York City

Leave a Reply

